## **Wyoming State Bar Board of Officers & Commissioners Meeting**

September 16, 2022 Best Western Downtown Casper Hotel Casper, Wyoming

**In Attendance**: J. Kenneth Barbe, President; Teresa S. Thybo, Vice President (via phone);

Kelly M. Neville, Treasurer; Stefanie L. Boster, First Judicial District Commissioner; Sarah L. Chavez Harkins, Second Judicial District Commissioner; Jason Petri, Third Judicial District Commissioner (via phone); Kevin K. Kessner; Fourth Judicial District Commissioner; Alison O. Gee, Sixth Judicial District Commissioner; P. Craig Silva, Seventh Judicial District Commissioner (via phone); Emily S. Madden, Young Lawyer Section Chair; Sharon Wilkinson, Executive Director and Mark W. Gifford,

Bar Counsel

Absent: Christopher H. Hawks, President-Elect; Billie LM Addleman, Immediate

Past President; Jennifer L. Kirk, Fifth Judicial District Commissioner; Shawn G. Wilde, Eighth Judicial District Commissioner and James T. Whiting,

Ninth Judicial District Commissioner

President J. Kenneth Barbe called the meeting to order at 9:09 a.m. on Friday, September 16, 2022.

President Barbe shared that the only agenda item for today is the ratification of the 2022/2023 budget and asked if anybody had any questions about the proposed budget.

Commissioner Kevin Kessner made a motion to approve the proposed budget for the 2022/2023 fiscal year. Commission Alison Gee seconded the motion.

Commissioner Gee shared that she thought it was worth mentioning that we are projecting a financial loss at the end of the next fiscal year; however, she thinks it's a fair budget that really takes care of the staff.

President Barbe shared that he has been on the Board for a number of years and does not recall ever truly meeting our budget expectations when projecting a loss because we always do significantly better than we anticipate. He shared that we have built up quite a bit of savings over the years, which is nice in the event that we need to dip into that.

Commissioner Gee thanked everyone for their hard work in putting this budget together.

The motion carried unanimously.

President Barbe made special mention of outgoing Board members Vice President Teresa Thybo, Commissioner Sarah Chavez Harkins and Emily Madden, Young Lawyer Section Chair. He thanked them all for their service to the Bar.

President J. Kenneth Barbe adjourned the meeting at 9:15 a.m. on Friday, September 16, 2022.

Minutes Submitted by:

Sharon Wilkinson Executive Director