Justice Burke Receives Judicial Excellence Award

CHEYENNE – The Wyoming State Bar and the Wyoming Supreme Court are pleased to announce that the Honorable E. James Burke, Justice of the Wyoming Supreme Court, is this year’s recipient of the Larry L. Lehman Award for Judicial Excellence.  The award was presented at this year’s Annual Meeting and Judicial Conference in Laramie, Wyoming.

The award was presented by Chief Justice Michael K. Davis.  The Lehman Award is given in memory of Justice Lehman, who died in 2004, and who is remembered for his tireless efforts to improve the operation of the court system and to provide greater access to justice for all Wyoming citizens.

Justice Burke was appointed to the Wyoming Supreme Court in January 2005. Prior to his appointment, he served as a district judge in Cheyenne, Wyoming. Justice Burke received his B.S. degree from St. Joseph’s College in Philadelphia, PA in 1971. Upon graduation, he entered the U.S. Air Force and was stationed at F.E. Warren AFB in Cheyenne until 1974. He obtained his J.D. from the University of Wyoming in 1977 and engaged in private practice in Cheyenne until his appointment to the district bench in 2001. He served as Chief Justice from July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2018.

Chief Justice Davis recounted Justice Burke’s extensive efforts to improve the public’s understanding of the judicial branch, his initiative to increase citizen access to justice, and his work to improve trial courtrooms throughout the State of Wyoming.  He also thanked Justice Burke for his leadership and other lasting contributions to Wyoming’s system of justice.

Share on Social Media