Casper Attorney/Former Chief Justice Receives Bar’s Professionalism Award

CHEYENNE – The Wyoming State Bar is pleased to announce that Casper attorney and former Chief Justice of the Wyoming Supreme Court Michael Golden is this year’s recipient of its Gerald R. Mason Professionalism Award. The award was presented today during a small awards luncheon held in conjunction with the Bar’s Virtual Annual Meeting.

Golden is the tenth recipient of this annual award. The award was presented by Kelly M. Neville, President of the Wyoming State Bar.

The Professionalism Award is given to a Wyoming lawyer who represents the highest standards of ethics and dedication to the law, but also recognizes someone who contributes their time and energy to making the Wyoming Bar and its lawyers the best people they can be.

“Justice Golden has dedicated his career to the advancement of justice and the practice of law,” said Neville. “He served in the Judge Advocate General Corps, followed by a distinguished career in the Wyoming bar and as a Justice of the Wyoming Supreme Court. Even in his retirement, he continues to serve the citizens of Wyoming in many ways, notably through oversight of the Office of Bar Counsel. He embodies the professionalism, selflessness, and service of Wyoming lawyers.”

Justice Golden is a retired Justice of the Wyoming Supreme Court, having served on the Court from 1988 to 2012. He was appointed Chief Justice for the Court’s 1994 to 1996 term. Justice Golden was born in Enid, Oklahoma and earned a B.A. in history from the University of Wyoming and a J.D. from the University of Wyoming, College of Law. He earned an L.L.M. in Judicial Process from the University of Virginia. Prior to his appointment to the Court he was in private practice in Rawlins and Casper. Justice Golden was chairman of the Wyoming Supreme Court Children’s Justice Project from Its inception in 1999 to his retirement in 2012. He serves as a Consultant to CJP. During his time on the Court he authored over 700 majority opinions. Justice Golden was awarded the Honorary Order of the Coif from the University of Wyoming, College of Law, the 2011 Justice Larry L. Lehman Award for Judicial Excellence and the 2012 University of Wyoming College of Law Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award.

Share on Social Media